January 3, 2018 Online Meeting Minutes

CIT Online Meeting

Agenda

January 3rd, Wednesday

Time: 8:30 AM PST, 9:30 AM MST, 10:30 AM CST & 11:30 AM EST

 

The meeting was called to order at 11:31 am Eastern

 

  1. Roll Call Leslie Greer, Kim Kurz, Jessica Bentley-Sassaman, Patty Lessard, Carole Lazorisak, Sarah Wheeler, Becca Minor and Janis Cole
    1. Excused absent: none
    2. Absent: None
    3. Guest: none

 

  1. Minutes approval
    1. Minutes
      1. November
      2. December

 

  1. President Greer
    1. ASLTA / CIT MOU discussion what this MOU would entail.
    2. PPM send feedback to Jessica by January 11
    3. Newsletters – discussion of print newsletters and also redesigning the look of the newsletter. A discussion of when there is important information to mail out either a newsletter or a postcard to the members to alter them to the critical information.
    4. Discussion of membership numbers and recruitment/retention
    5. Legacies and Legends video / guideline – discussion of the video guidelines and the length.

 

  1. Vice President Kurz
    1. Nomination Committee – 5 people volunteered to be on the nominations committee for the 4 awards.
    2. Bylaws updates – discussion of the feedback for us to read related to the bylaws revisions.

 

  1. Secretary Bentley
    1. Action of Items

 

  1. Treasurer Lessard
    1. Wells Fargo
      1. Checking: $23, 494.15
      2. Saving: $86,663.58

 

PayPal:                $90,506.97 [“holding” for conference expenses]

TOTAL                $200,664.70

 

Directors:

  1. Communication Minor
    1. Survey on CIT’s name change – most wanted the name to change.
    2. Postcard mailers – will be sent the third week of January
    3. RID Views, CIT will have space in the RID Views. Will put in information about CIT’s upcoming conference.
    4. Discussion of the CIT store and desktop calendars.

 

  1. Professional Development Lazorisak
    1. Conference updates – contacted the 4 CIT board chosen presenters some still need follow up emails to get everything we need.

 

  1. Public Relations & Outreach Cole
    1. Talked about the Aurasma (HP Reveal)
    2. A sponsorship letter was designed and it will be signed in ASL and send out for sponsors.
    3. Deaf Studies Digital Journal – discussion of the format for the IJIE. Discussion of the idea for recording some of the presentations at the conference and that becoming the ASL version of the proceedings.

 

  1. Publications & Research Wheeler
    1. Update on how to apply for IJIE
    2. Request for feedback from the board on revised publication timeline and additional requirements before publishing in the CIT Newsletter.

 

  1. Dates for Spring and Summer 2018

 

Meeting adjourned by President Greer at 1:15 pm Eastern

 

 

Respectfully Submitted By,

Jessica Bentley-Sassaman, Secretary