October 4, 2017 CIT Online Meeting Minutes

CIT Board Online Meeting

Agenda

October 4, 2017

8:30 AM PST; 9:30 AM MST; 10:30 AM CST & 11:30 AM EST

 

The meeting was called to order at 11:30 am Eastern

 

 

Present: Leslie Greer, Kim Kurz, Jessica Bentley-Sassaman, Patty Lessard, Carole Lazorisak, Sarah Wheeler, Becca Minor, and Janis Cole

 

 

 

Minutes approval: September minutes approved

 

President Greer:

  1. Communication Guidelines – when to text and when to email. When texting indicate who will do what
  2. Online voting – a document with guidelines will be developed
  3. Emergency – can send a text for emergency situations.
  4. PPM – will bring to Salt Lake City for final review
  5. Conference Guidelines – will be completed and reviewed at face to face meeting in Salt Lake City

 

Vice President Kurz:

  1. Attorney reviewing our CIT document/IRS statues – the attorney will do this pro bono and let us know the positives and negatives of changing our organization status.
  2. Mary Stotler Award Updates
    1. Sent announcement to Doug – working on the video
    2. Finalized Committee: Laurie Swabey (2014 winner – Chair); Anna Witter-Merithew (2006 winner) and Jean Parmir
  3. Consultant: Needs more details for what we want so Kim will work with him on those revisions to the mission statement and bylaws for equity language.
  4. Four other Awards – will make a video for the awards and will have it translated. Will send a call for committee chair and then will have the chair choose the committee members.

 

Secretary Bentley-Sassaman:

  1. Action of Items
  2. FCC letter from CIT will be drafted and submitted.

 

Treasurer Lessard:

  1. Wells Fargo:
    Checking:  $32,540.30
    Savings:    $87,950.47
    Total:         $120,490.77

    PayPal:          $67,120.68
    Grand Total: $ 187,611.45

  2. Gallaudet President’s Circle invitation

 

Directors:

 

Communication Chair Minor:

  1. Order Post Cards
  2. Direct mail from Vista Print

 

 

Professional Development Chair Lazorisak:

  1. Updates – Guest presenters
  2. Replace a Plenary Speaker
  3. Meeting with Carolyn Ball in Hotel (SLC on Nov 30th)
  4. Conference Registration Form posting

 

Public Relations and Outreach Chair Cole:

No report

 

Research & Publication Chair Wheeler:

  1. CIT Research “Think Tank”
  2. Proceeding submitting – timelines for IJIE editors

 

Future meeting dates and times:

Wednesday, November 1, 2017 8:30 am Pacific, 11:30 am Eastern

 

Friday December 1, 2017 evening in Salt Lake City – possibly Saturday evening as well.

 

 

Meeting Adjourned by President Greer 12:59 pm Eastern